HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Main » General Discussion (Forum) » Nixon announces members o...

Thu Nov 20, 2014, 07:51 AM

Nixon announces members of Ferguson Commission

Gov. Jay Nixon on Tuesday swore in the 16 members of the Ferguson Commission: a mix of lawyers, CEOs, former and current police officials and educators — along with one 20-year-old protester.

Nixon created the commission to address the “social and economic conditions” highlighted by protests after the killing of Michael Brown by Ferguson police Officer Darren Wilson on Aug. 9.

At least one member of the commission, Felicia Pulliam, lives in Ferguson. She is development director at Focus St. Louis and was an adjunct criminal justice professor at St. Louis Community College. Another member, Scott Negwer, owns the Ferguson-based Negwer Materials.

Some of the appointees were selected by the governor from a pool of more than 300 people who applied. Nixon introduced them Tuesday afternoon at the Missouri History Museum.


0 replies, 389 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Reply to this thread