HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Places » U.S. » Alaska (Group) » 77 mushers sign up for 20...

Mon Dec 5, 2016, 07:38 AM

77 mushers sign up for 2017 Iditarod

Entries have closed for the 2017 Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race, and 77 mushers have put down their money to race 1,000 miles to Nome.

That would be a slightly smaller field than this year when 85 mushers started, the third largest field ever. The top 10 mushers of 2016 have all signed up for the upcoming race including the seemingly unstoppable Dallas Seavey, who has won the last three Iditarods plus the 2012 race.

If Seavey, 29 of Willow, wins the 2017 race, he will tie Rick Swenson as the race's winningest musher. Swenson, of Two Rivers, won in 1977, 1979, 1981, 1982 and 1991 but has not run the Iditarod since 2012.

The other four-time winners in the 2017 field are 58-year-old Martin Buser of Big Lake and 61-year-old Jeff King of Denali Park. Buser's last Iditarod win was in 2002, while King's was in 2006.

Read more: https://www.adn.com/outdoors-adventure/iditarod/2016/12/02/77-mushers-signed-up-for-2017-iditarod-race/

0 replies, 745 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Reply to this thread