HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Main » Editorials & Other Articles (Forum) » 'We Are Having A Mass Del...

Sat Oct 17, 2020, 04:00 PM

'We Are Having A Mass Delusional Break In This Country And No One Will Admit It': GOP Cult of Death

- Look at the people: no masks; no social distancing; no belief in science. How many will be too sick to vote Nov. 3 ?

- 'We are having a mass delusional break in this country and no one will admit it.'- Daily Kos, Oct. 17, 2020.

We have a massive delusional event going on in our country and no one is calling it what it is. A cult of Death has overtaken the Republican party from Trump, to Senators, to Congressmen/women to the regular citizens, all of whom are in the cult. I think itís a serious mental health issue and we need to address it.

I am new to the mental health field after teaching another subject for more than 25 years. My reading and studies on narcissistic personality disorder explain Trump perfectly: his refusing to accept the results of the election or his new tune, that he doesnít even want to try very hard anymore. Both are meant to alleviate his feelings of shame when he loses. Narcissistsí biggest fear is shame. So he is acting in accordance with his mental health disorder. It makes sense.

But the behavior of his cult is stunning to me. I donít have enough experience and knowledge to understand how this all occurred, but I do think we MUST start talking about how we will address it, because even if he loses, they will still be here, living in a separate reality than those of us in the real world. They will not be going away. They are absolutely a cult and believe everything that he tells them. We have a mass delusion event going on that more experienced people in the mental health field need to start talking about.

Here are some of their delusions: