HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Topics » Economy & Education » Education (Group) » Diane Ravitch television ...

Sun Oct 13, 2013, 05:39 AM

Diane Ravitch television town hall

You are invited to join Diane Ravitch for a tele-town hall discussion of the most challenging issues facing public education today. Diane’s recent book, Reign of Error, lights the way for communities to undo corporate reform and deliver equity and justice in education.

“[Diane] is America’s foremost historian in the areas of education policy, she’s a champion of public education, she’s a courageous speaker and she’s a truth-teller.” –Actor, Matt Damon

Tele-Town Hall with Diane Ravitch

Wednesday, October 16th , 8pm Eastern
(7pm Central, 6pm Mountain, 5pm Pacific)



http://www.workingfamiliesparty.org/tele-town-hall-with-diane-ravitch/

1 replies, 1442 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Always highlight: 10 newest replies | Replies posted after I mark a forum
Replies to this discussion thread
Arrow 1 replies Author Time Post
Reply Diane Ravitch television town hall (Original post)
eridani Oct 2013 OP
Igel Oct 2013 #1

Response to eridani (Original post)

Sun Oct 13, 2013, 01:04 PM

1. Now she's a "truth teller."

Before she was a stooge.

She's the same person now, for the most part, that she was then. Before she interpreted the data she had in the best way there was. Now there are more data, and that's caused the interpretion to change. Hypothesis, experiment, data, old hypothesis falsified. That's where she is. It's an honest position, as was her old position for which she was vilified.

The only thing that's changed in evaluating her is the extent to which she agrees with us.

Even then, she doesn't actually agree with us, except in part. She actually has her own new hypothesis, based on new data--a hypothesis which many of us would find unpalatable--of how public schools should be run. For now, though, she's a zealot seeking to undo what she did in the first place.

Think of most of the agreement consisting in seeing a need to clear the lab bench of the experiment that's growing and taking over the lab. The goal is to try something else. At that point it's likely we'll part ways again, and she'll again be vilified for not agreeing with us.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink

Reply to this thread