HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Topics » Sports » Sports (Group) » Penalty calls are bound t...

Tue Mar 27, 2018, 05:23 PM

Penalty calls are bound to be way UP in the NFL next season

NFL makes any hit with crown of helmet a 15-yard penalty

NFL owners have rewritten the rule on using the crown of the helmet, making it a 15-yard penalty to initiate any hit with it.

Rich McKay, chairman of the competition committee and president and CEO of the Atlanta Falcons, called it "a significant change," noting that it was a "technique too dangerous for the player doing it and the player being hit."

McKay said the tackle made by the Pittsburgh Steelers' Ryan Shazier last season that resulted in the linebacker suffering a spinal injury was not the impetus for the change. But it was an example of what needs to be eliminated from the game.

"This one technique, we saw so many hits when a player lowered his head and delivered a hit and either hurt himself or the player he was hitting," McKay said. "It was time for a change of this magnitude."


http://www.espn.com/nfl/story/_/id/22935229/nfl-outlaws-hit-crown-helmet

5 replies, 1180 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Always highlight: 10 newest replies | Replies posted after I mark a forum
Replies to this discussion thread
Arrow 5 replies Author Time Post
Reply Penalty calls are bound to be way UP in the NFL next season (Original post)
True Dough Mar 2018 OP
GusBob Mar 2018 #1
True Dough Mar 2018 #2
ProfessorGAC Mar 2018 #3
Angleae Mar 2018 #4
ProfessorGAC Mar 2018 #5

Response to True Dough (Original post)

Tue Mar 27, 2018, 05:37 PM

1. "Spearing" it used to be called?

How did they rewrite the rule?

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink



Response to True Dough (Original post)

Wed Mar 28, 2018, 06:01 AM

3. That And PI

If they actually enacted the proposal, i didn't see yet. They were talking about making it just a 15 yard penalty, meaning that 30 yards downfield, i'm intentionally fouling a guy if i'm beat in the secondary. I just saved my team at least 15 yards of field position.

Anybody know if they enacted that rule?

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to ProfessorGAC (Reply #3)

Wed Mar 28, 2018, 04:29 PM

4. That change was withdrawn, it still is spot of foul.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Angleae (Reply #4)

Thu Mar 29, 2018, 05:59 AM

5. Good.

Next thing we know, they'd have to replay every PI to see if it was intentional.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink

Reply to this thread