HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Places » U.S. » U.S. Territories (Group) » EU blacklists American Sa...

Thu Feb 21, 2019, 11:20 PM

EU blacklists American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, USVI and other countries

BRUSSELS, Belgium — Afghanistan, American Samoa, the Bahamas, Botswana, North Korea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guam, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Nigeria, Pakistan, Panama, Puerto Rico, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, US Virgin Islands and Yemen have all been blacklisted in a report published by the European Union (EU) Commission last week.

Individual EU governments and parliamentarians still have to sign off on the new list, but if accepted, it would prove painful for EU banks that handle payments connected to the blacklisted countries and territories. Those lenders would have to conduct “enhanced due diligence” on any cash that moves to and from the EU and the blacklisted jurisdictions.

The EU report states that the list has been established on the basis of an analysis of 54 priority jurisdictions the EU had constant investigations on over the course of the last few years, which was prepared by the Commission in consultation with the member states and made public on 13 November 2018. The countries assessed meet at least one of the following criteria:

• They have systemic impact on the integrity of the EU financial system;

• They are reviewed by the International Monetary Fund as international offshore financial centres; and

• They have economic relevance and strong economic ties with the EU.

Read more: https://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/2019/02/18/eu-blacklists-panama-the-bahamas-puerto-rico-trinidad-and-tobago-usvi/

0 replies, 1098 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Reply to this thread