HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » CaliforniaPeggy » Journal
Page: 1 2 Next »

CaliforniaPeggy

Profile Information

Name: Peggy
Gender: Female
Hometown: Manhattan Beach, CA
Home country: USA
Current location: Right here!
Member since: Thu Feb 3, 2005, 01:41 PM
Number of posts: 134,772

Journal Archives

Taken today: Daylilly



Posted by CaliforniaPeggy | Thu Apr 30, 2020, 05:41 PM (17 replies)

Tonight's Crescent Moon/04/27/2020



Posted by CaliforniaPeggy | Mon Apr 27, 2020, 10:46 PM (12 replies)

Need to laugh? Here you go!

Ontario has banned groups larger than five. If you’re a family of 6, you’re all about to find out who’s the least favorite!

The longer this goes on, the harder it will be to return to a society where pants and bras are required!

Happy hour is starting earlier and earlier.

If this keeps up, I’ll be pouring wine in my cereal!

Today’s Weather? Room temperature

30 Days Hath September, April, June and November All the rest have 31 … except March which had 8000

Posted by CaliforniaPeggy | Mon Apr 27, 2020, 06:04 PM (19 replies)

Is a sub-clinical case of covid19 possible? I wonder.



And I mean this as not just asymptomatic, but not even detectable.


On edit: A subclinical infection — sometimes called a preinfection or inapparent infection — is an infection that, being subclinical, is nearly or completely asymptomatic. Wikipedia
Posted by CaliforniaPeggy | Thu Apr 23, 2020, 11:10 PM (14 replies)

A friend of mine sent me a link to many famous museums, castles and other wonderful places.

I thought maybe some of you might like to have a look!

Virtual Travel Sites take you where you might not be able to go!

Enjoy!


World Museums
• Anne Franke Museum, Amsterdam, Netherlands - https://www.annefrank.org/en/museum/web-and-digital/
• British Museum, London - https://britishmuseum.withgoogle.com/
• Guggenheim, Bilbao, Spain - https://www.guggenheim-bilbao.eus/en
• Hermitage Museum, St Petersburg, Russia - &feature=youtu.be
• Louvre Museum Paris - https://www.louvre.fr/en/visites-en-ligne
• MASP, Sao Paolo, Brazil - https://masp.org.br/en
• Met Museum, New York - https://www.metmuseum.org/art/online-features/met-360-project
• Musιe d’Orsay, Paris - https://m.musee-orsay.fr/en/home.html
• Musei Vaticani, Vatican City - http://www.museivaticani.va/content/museivaticani/en/collezioni/musei/tour-virtuali-elenco.html
• Museum Of London Docklands - https://www.museumoflondon.org.uk/about-us/business-services/venue-hire/museum-london-docklands/virtual-tour
• National Gallery Of Arts, Washington DC - https://www.nga.gov/
• National Gallery, London - https://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/visiting/virtual-tours
• National Museum Of US Air Forces - https://www.nationalmuseum.af.mil/
• Natural History Museum, London - https://artsandculture.google.com/streetview/the-natural-history-museum-hintze-hall/yQHjHCmSOMKyhQ
• Palestine Museum - https://www.palmuseum.org/ehxibitions/virtual-exhibitions
• Picasso Museum, Barcelona - http://www.bcn.cat/museupicasso/en/museum/presentation.html
• Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam, Netherlands - https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/rijksmuseum
• Royal Academy Of Arts, London - https://britishart.yale.edu/
• Salvatore Dali Museum, Figueres, Spain - https://www.salvador-dali.org/en/museums/dali-theatre-museum-in-figueres/visita-virtual/#
• Tate Britain, London - https://www.tate.org.uk/visit/tate-britain/display/walk-through-british-art
• The J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles, United States - https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/the-j-paul-getty-museum
• The Museum of Flight - https://museumofflight.org/Explore-The-Museum/Virtual-Museum-Online
• The National Museum of Computing on Bletchley Park - https://britishart.yale.edu/
• Uffizi Gallery, Florence, Italy - https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/uffizi-gallery
• US Holocaust Museum - https://www.ushmm.org/information/exhibitions/online-exhibitions
• Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam, Netherlands - https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/van-gogh-museum
• Virginia Living Museum - https://thevlm.org/visit/about-us/covid-19-update/natural-education/
• Women's History Museum, Virginia, USA - https://www.womenshistory.org/womens-history/online-exhibits
• Yale Centre For British Art - https://britishart.yale.edu/

Tourist Destinations
• Buckingham Palace, London - https://www.royal.uk/virtual-tours-buckingham-palace
• Colosseum, Rome - https://tinyurl.com/thrprzf
• Machu Picchu - https://www.youvisit.com/tour/machupicchu?pl=f
• Northern Lights - https://explore.org/livecams/aurora-borealis-northern-lights/northern-lights-cam
• Pyramids - https://www.tripsavvy.com/virtual-field-trip-pyramids-1259200
• Stonehenge - https://tinyurl.com/wz3xgz7
• Street Art with Google - https://streetart.withgoogle.com/en/
• Taj Mahal, Agra, India - https://tinyurl.com/qpz7vmt
• The Great Wall Of China - https://www.thechinaguide.com/destination/great-wall-of-china
• Tour of Rome, Italy - https://tinyurl.com/s5vlzbc

General Sites
• AirPano - https://www.airpano.com/
• Berliner Philharominker - https://www.digitalconcerthall.com/en/home
• ExoPlanets NASA - https://exoplanets.nasa.gov/
• Legoland - https://www.legoland.dk/en/accommodation/hotel-legoland/virtual-tour/
• NASA, Langley Research Centre - https://oh.larc.nasa.gov/oh/
• The Kennedy Centre - https://www.kennedy-center.org/digitalstage/
• Walt Disney Parks - https://tinyurl.com/v7qano5
• Wellcome Collection - https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=rMGsprcVCAR

Zoos
• African Animals - https://explore.org/livecams/african-wildlife/african-animal-lookout-camera
• Atlanta Zoo - https://zooatlanta.org/panda-cam/
• Cincinnati Zoo - https://www.facebook.com/events/2915534028492292/
• Dublin Zoo - https://www.dublinzoo.ie/animals/animal-webcams/elephants/
• Edinburgh Zoo - https://www.edinburghzoo.org.uk/webcams/panda-cam/
• Explore.org Live Cams - https://explore.org/livecams
• Flamingo Land - https://www.flamingoland.co.uk/virtual-tour/
• Florida Aquarium - http://www.flaquarium.org/sea-span
• Hirakawa Zoo, Japan - https://hirakawazoo.jp/animal/movie
• International Wolf Centre - https://wolf.org/wolf-cams2/
• Kansas City Zoo - https://www.kansascityzoo.org/ouranimals/list-of-animals/king-penguin/
• Melbourne Zoo - https://www.zoo.org.au/animal-house
• National Aquarium, USA - https://www.aqua.org/Experience/live
• National Zoo, Washington DC - https://nationalzoo.si.edu/webcams
• Osaka Zoo - http://www.wombat-tv.com/
• San Diego, California, Zoo - https://zoo.sandiegozoo.org/live-cams
• Smithsonian, Washington DC - https://nationalzoo.si.edu/webcams
• Yellowstone National Park - https://www.nps.gov/yell/learn/photosmultimedia/virtualtours.htm

On Edit: please feel free to copy and paste this list and send it on to anyone you think would enjoy it!
Posted by CaliforniaPeggy | Wed Apr 22, 2020, 06:51 PM (16 replies)

A Rose in my neighbor's garden...






Two different views...

Posted by CaliforniaPeggy | Fri Apr 17, 2020, 10:49 PM (18 replies)

Just got this from a friend..........

It is a slow day in the small Saskatchewan town of Pumphandle, and streets are deserted. Times are tough, everybody is in debt, and everybody is living on credit.

A tourist visiting the area drives through town, stops at the motel, and lays a $100 bill on the desk saying he wants to inspect the rooms upstairs to pick one for the night. As soon as he walks upstairs, the motel owner grabs the bill and runs next door to pay his debt to the butcher.

The butcher takes the $100 and runs down the street to retire his debt to the pig farmer.

The pig farmer takes the $100 and heads off to pay his bill to his supplier, the Co-op.

The guy at the Co-op takes the $100 and runs to pay his debt to the local prostitute, who has also been facing hard times and has had to offer her "services" on credit.

The hooker rushes to the hotel and pays off her room bill with the hotel owner.

The hotel proprietor then places the $100 back on the counter so the traveler will not suspect anything.

At that moment the traveler comes down the stairs, states that the rooms are not satisfactory, picks up the $100 bill and leaves. No one produced anything. No one earned anything...

However, the whole town is now out of debt and now looks to the future with a lot more optimism.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is how a Stimulus package works.





Posted by CaliforniaPeggy | Wed Apr 15, 2020, 10:15 PM (63 replies)

Wisconsin Results from the NY Times. Interactive map.

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2020/04/07/us/elections/results-wisconsin-spring-elections.html

Posted by CaliforniaPeggy | Mon Apr 13, 2020, 04:48 PM (12 replies)

A little humor for these awful covid19 days:


Day 1 – I Can Do This!! Got enough food and wine to last a month!

Day 2 – Opening my 8th bottle of Wine. I fear wine supplies might not last!

Day 3 – Strawberries: Some have 210 seeds, some have 235 seeds. Who Knew??

Day 4 – 8:00pm. Removed my Day Pajamas and put on my Night Pajamas.

Day 5 – Today, I tried to make Hand Sanitizer. It came out as Jello Shots!!

Day 6 – I get to take the Garbage out. I’m So excited, I can’t decide what to wear.

Day 7 – Laughing way too much at my own jokes!!

Day 8 – Went to a new restaurant called “The Kitchen”. You have to gather all the ingredients and make your own meal. I have No clue how this place is still in business.

Day 9 – I put liquor bottles in every room. Tonight, I’m getting all dressed up and going Bar hopping.

Day 10 – Struck up a conversation with a Spider today. Seems nice. He’s a Web Designer.

Day 11 – Isolation is hard. I swear my fridge just said, “What the heck do you want now?”

Day 12 – I realized why dogs get so excited about something moving outside, going for walks or car rides. I think I just barked at a squirrel.

Day 13 – If you keep a glass of wine in each hand, you can’t accidentally touch your face.

Day 14 – Watched the birds fight over a worm. The Cardinals lead the Blue Jays 3–1.

Day 15 – Anybody else feel like they’ve cooked dinner about 395 times this month?


Posted by CaliforniaPeggy | Fri Apr 10, 2020, 09:25 PM (10 replies)

This video is about 34 minutes long and it is a superb talk about how the virus kills us.

I thought it would be too long, but I was riveted. The MD knows his stuff and if you don't yet understand how the virus works, you will by the end of this.

&feature=youtu.be

Posted by CaliforniaPeggy | Tue Apr 7, 2020, 10:06 AM (10 replies)
Go to Page: 1 2 Next »