HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Topics » Politics & Government » Campaigns (Group) » 2018 MN US Senate Special...

Wed Dec 13, 2017, 08:23 PM

2018 MN US Senate Special Election- Tina Smith-D

Governor Mark Dayton-D appointed his Lt. Governor Tina Smith-D to the MN US Senate Seat vacated by Al Franken-D.
Sitting Lt. Governors who have been appointed to the US Senate.
2012-Brian Schatz(D-HI) appointed to replace Dan Inouye-D who died. Schatz-D defeated Colleen Hanabusa-Inouye's preferred candidate in the Democratic Primary and then won the November 2012 General Election.
1996-Sheila Frahm(R-KS) appointed to replace Bob Dole-R who resigned to run for POTUS. Frahm-R lost in the Republican primary to Sam Brownback.
Smith-D is going to win the Democratic Nomination for the 2018 MN US Senate Race with strong endorsements from the entire DFL establishment. I expect the surviving members of the Wellstone family to support Smith.
Republicans will nominate Michelle Bachmann over Tim Pawlenty.
Tina Smith-D defeats Michelle Bachmann in the November 2018 General Election by a high single to low double digit margin.

0 replies, 804 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Reply to this thread