HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Topics » Foreign Affairs & National Security » Veterans (Group) » I ran into a big red one ...

Tue Nov 26, 2019, 05:05 PM

I ran into a big red one Vietnam vet I invited him for thanksgiving

I met this guy awhile back in gym that I work out at. Anyway vets in getting to know him hes a great guy retired police officer. He ended his career as homicide detective. I found out several months ago hes a widower and I love the dude as friend. He told me he was a tunnel rat in Vietnam and Im like fuck. So my friend he just text me what would you like me to bring for thanksgiving.

I text back to him nothing bro just bring you. Truthfully I feel bad for the dude his wife passed from breast cancer in 05. As a infantry soldier vet myself and a husband I just have a big heart for the dude. So then I told him hey if you wanna stop around Wednesday for lunch and hang. Im doing a chili he was like ok. I told him you do not have be alone on holidays friend. All compassion and love I feel. So I ramble a lot my point is this dude as tunnel rat was stud.

5 replies, 1203 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Always highlight: 10 newest replies | Replies posted after I mark a forum
Replies to this discussion thread
Arrow 5 replies Author Time Post
Reply I ran into a big red one Vietnam vet I invited him for thanksgiving (Original post)
TEB Nov 2019 OP
pbmus Nov 2019 #1
Ohiogal Nov 2019 #2
Karadeniz Nov 2019 #3
TEB Nov 2019 #4
blueinredohio Nov 2019 #5

Response to TEB (Original post)

Tue Nov 26, 2019, 05:09 PM

1. Thankful for people like you

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink

Tue Nov 26, 2019, 05:15 PM

2. We need more people like TEB in the world.